CMS Decisions

For the last couple of weeks, I was able to explore the world of content management systems. Some were easy to install, while others were complicated. Many issues would appear during installation, which helped me narrow down the ones I would use for clients and personal projects. After installing Get Simple, Drupal, and WordPress, I felt comfortable choosing a favorite. WordPress and Drupal are larger content management systems with lots of resources, but I wanted simplicity. So I chose Get Simple as one I would use frequently, unless I needed more plugins and tools. WordPress would be my second choice, while Drupal would be my last.

My Experience

Drupal

The process of installation should not take longer than 30 minutes, which Drupal exceeded. That was one of the issues I ran into with the CMS, and I felt the system would be a last resource. Several errors would appear while setting up the database and configuring the site. After installing the CMS, I admitted to liking the layout and appearance. When the time came for posting content and adding plugins, the difficulty level had risen. The time I spent with Drupal was short, not even getting into the database backup. I felt my frustration took over the ambition to understanding the CMS. Honestly I would not use Drupal unless I needed to use the CMS for future employers. Although, setting up the database and installation was aggravating, I would still recommend the CMS to web developers seeking a challenge.

WordPressWordPress was simple to install and set up. Like many others, I would recommend the CMS to every developer and non-developer. The process of adding or editing content, adding plugins or pages and more, was effortless. The CMS has an unlimited amount of resources, from plugins to themes. I spent time understanding the PHP implementation and integrating static html pages into themes. The process of working with templates to make a simple theme was tolerable. I did not run into any issues setting up the CMS, although I still have a lot to learn. In other words, WordPress would be my second choice for a content management system. The system is powerful with tons of tools and themes, it would be difficult to comprehend in one day.

GetSimpleIt cannot get much simpler than Get Simple! Get Simple was the content management system that had my requirements. Setting up the database and installation was a breeze and without error. Now of course the CMS is not perfect, and the lack of themes and plugins would be a reason. Get Simple does not receive as much traffic as popular CMS like WordPress and Drupal. Although, the CMS is simple and effective, even though it lacks the many resources and tools other CMS have. The backup was straightforward. The template implementation was easily done using a handy copy and paste method. However, I must admit the CMS will need more plugins and themes, which would help the traffic flow. I would easily use Get Simple for future clients without hesitation, unless I needed more tools, then WordPress would be a backup.

Simple but effective was key to choosing the right CMS. Get Simple will be my first choice for the simplicity. WordPress would be my second for the larger amount of resources, while Drupal be last just for the challenge. Each system has its pros and cons, but they are great tools for managing content. I would recommend all three to developers.

Resources:

http://caseymarketingservices.com/blog/2011/digital-publishing/understanding-content-management-systems/

https://wordpress.org/about/

https://drupal.org/about

http://get-simple.info/start/

Leave a Reply

