Who will win? Drupal or Newbie programmer?

drupal-logo

Originally, I was going to talk about the difference between content management systems, Drupal and Get Simple, but that all changed. After my experience of downloading Drupal and installing the CMS to my localhost, I thought this would be a wonderful topic to talk about!

Drupal vs Newbie programmer

Let’s begin by saying, if you love Drupal and had no problem installing, congratulations! For those who gave up or was scared away this article is for you!

The first step to a problem is admitting, I knew Drupal was trouble when I received errors during installation. WordPress and other CMSs installed and ran without a problem.  Before I installed Drupal, I researched a few articles that would help with the process, that being said I only found one article that gave me hope. Throughout the article Drupal become less intimidating and more impressive. Drupal was known to be complex yet very powerful. I knew the CMS was going to be learning curve, nonetheless I was up for the challenge!

Round One: Downloading Drupal

Before downloading Drupal, I found an article that explained How to Create a Drupal 7 Theme from Scratch from onextrapixel.com. Although the article did not explain in depth the process of installation, the tutorial was helpful.

Due to the fact I was new to Drupal, the first step to learning about the CMS was downloading the file. In short, I decided to document my experience with installing Drupal.

Here we go!

Downloading Drupal 7.26 zip on https://drupal.org/start

download_drupal

Alright! Now that wasn’t so hard! Next up, moving the Drupal file to my local server.

Round Two: Installing Drupal

Local host Xampp ran Drupal without a problem.

On the Drupal website, an installation guide was provided for creating a database using phpMyAdmin.

(URL: https://drupal.org/documentation/install/create-database)

After creating a new user, I dropped the Drupal File into my htdocs folder and started the installation process.

(The first time I installed Drupal, there were a bulk of errors while setting up my database. This was frustrating, so I express my frustration by googling the errors and behold others had the same issue. One problem I had was an error from one of my files, which was missing a file.)

Once the database was step, everything ran a lot smoother than the first time.

I finally made progress when I got to the configure site page.

install_drupal

Final Round: Newbie Wins…. Using a small tool!

Using a localhost to install Drupal seemed easier. The next big step was using a live host, which would be a whole new ball game. For now I wanted to start small using a local host, just to get my feet wet. If you are new to content management systems, using web server like Xampp will be useful. Xampp has MySQL, PHP and Apache, which is required for installing content management systems. Also, Drupal is known to be tough, but there are plenty of resources that will assistance you while managing the CMS.

myfirst

Resources

Previously, I talked about the article that had a tutorial on how to create a Drupal 7 theme from scratch. The tutorial was helpful in explaining the process of folder structure, maintaining files, setting up front pages, and adding content. I recommend the tutorial to anyone who would like to learn about creating themes. Below, I have a list of resources that I found useful for setting up Drupal.

Leave a Reply

